Superpowers

1385519_10153372406940328_1700437832_n

Last year in pre-K, Jay was given a test. Some of you may remember this. He was asked his name. To which he quickly exclaimed with confidence “J-A-Y Perkins, IV, Superhero, Ninja Turtle, Power Ranger, Transformer!” His teacher went back and forth with him. What’s your 1st name? “John.” What’s your last name? “Transformer.” He definitely knew who he was.

Every day I get to drop Jay off at school. And most days I get to pick him up from school. I love picking him up and finding out about his day. He always tells me about what they ate (food is very important in my family), who played with and what they played. Almost every day I ask if he learned anything. His response is usually always the same. “Yes, but I can’t remember.”

Yesterday, he looked a little sad when he climbed in my truck. He wasn’t his usual, bouncing-off-the-walls, full of joy and enthusiasm, self. I asked him what was bothering him? He put his head down and said, “I lost my superpowers today.” He wasn’t quite sure how. But he knew he had. “And if I don’t get them back tomorrow, I may never have them again.”

His words really stuck with me. I began to think of them in light of our Lord’s words in the Gospel of Matthew (18:2-4). What is we at one point were aware that we had lost our “superpowers?” But as we got older, we just accepted it and continued through life. What if we didn’t accept the current condition of our lives. What if we could regain our superpowers? What if we didn’t have to live without them?

Those of you who know me, know that my boyhood hero is Superman. There’s a moment in the movie “Superman 2” where Clark Kent returns to the Fortress of Solitude to confess to his father that he has failed. He gave up his superpowers and has to return to his father to regain them.

You and I don’t have to live in our own Fortress of Solitude. We don’t have to live without our “superpowers.” Our Father wants to restore our superpowers. All we have to do is ask him. He is a generous dad, always ready to give, to heal, to restore.

I called Alesha yesterday after she picked Jay up from school. She put Jay on the phone. I asked him if he got his superpowers back. “Yeah dad!”

“Amen, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, 3 you will not enter the kingdom of heaven…” Matthew 18:3

About johnrayperkins

I am a...

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Superpowers.

Comments are closed.

