Are we there yet?

Have you ever spent a day with a 5 year old? Their minds are little sponges. They want to know about everything. It seems like they are constantly asking questions about how and why?

Yesterday I took Jay to our hunting camp. We left our house early that morning. The camp is about an hour drive. According to the little guy “It’s too long.” The whole way there, it seemed like he was constantly asking questions about everything. In fact, the whole day he never stopped asking questions. But on the way there the question that kept coming up was “are we almost there yet?”

Isn’t that the famous question of kids when driving? It doesn’t matter if you’re going 10 minutes down the road, an hour away or 6 hours for vacation – same question over and over – “when are we going to be there? It’s taking too long!”

We had a great day at the camp. When we got in my truck to head home, he was covered in dirt. From head to toe, there wasn’t a part of his body that didn’t have dirt on it or in it – the sign of a fun day at the camp in the life of a 5 year old boy.

When we got on the interstate (or freeway for all my friends living outside of South Louisiana) to head home, he said to me “Dad, can you leave me alone for a little minute? I need to rest.” And with that, he was fast asleep, confident that his dad could get him home.

As I reflected on our day, his question “Are we there yet? It’s taking too long” is what kept coming to the forefront of my mind. Is that not what we ask our Father when we are on our journey to Him? To be in relationship with him – in communion. To be the men or women He created us to be.

It is called holiness. When we become whole in whom our Father has created us to be. But in order to achieve that, we have to develop our relationship with Him. We have to overcome our own selfishness and sinfulness. I don’t know about you, but too often I get impatient with myself in this journey. I begin telling the Lord that “it’s taking too long.”

In the end, all we need to do is rest in the presence of our Father. He alone can reveal who we are. He alone will give us all that is needed to overcome the sinfulness and selfishness.

My prayer is that I can rest in the presence of my Father. Knowing with confidence He is going to get me home.

About johnrayperkins

I am a...

Posted on September 1, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Are we there yet?.

Comments are closed.

